4 Vital Tips for Long and Beautiful Hair

DSC_0779

I am on a mission to grow my hair as long as possible. It used to be real long in my childhood but that is just a distant memory now. However, I am determined to get my long locks back. The most important thing of course is to eat healthy and keep your scalp nourished and your hair undamaged. Cutting split ends off is necessary every now and again for your hair to grow beautiful, but preventing the splits is the key. Here are some things to keep in mind when caring for your hair:

1. Eating for health and beauty

Having healthy and beautiful hair comes firstly from what you put inside your body. Omega 3 fatty acids are a wonderful source of health and beauty, and can make a remarkable change in the condition of your skin and hair! Omega 3 supplements are beneficial but not enough by themselves. You can get omega 3 from many sources, including fish, walnuts, chia seeds and flax seeds, of which fish is usually the most recommended. To grow strong hair you will also need protein, which you can get from for example fish (see – fish is amazing!), beans, peas and quinoa. Biotin is often advertised at the pharmacies for keeping your hair and nails in check, and it can also be found in for example walnuts.

2. Oiling

I have already posted about hair oils here https://missionthinknatural.wordpress.com/2015/02/08/long-and-healthy-hair-with-hair-oils/ but I shall further highlight the importance of massaging it in your scalp, as massage increases blood flow and stimulates hair growth. I oil my hair nearly as often as I wash it ( every 3 days). I like to apply the oil before going to bed and then wash my hair in the morning. Similarly to oils, I sometimes use natural yoghurt for a hair mask.

3. Treat your hair like silk

As simple as it sounds, this is an advice I have found very valuable. Firstly, I bought the tangle teezer which is said to detangle hair easily without braking it. However, I find the act of brushing more important than the brush, as you can do damage with anything if you are in a hurry or aren’t careful. Starting from the ends and ‘thinking of your hair as if it was valuable silk’ will help reduce breakage. Needles to say that things like dyeing, straightening or blow drying hair will put a great amount of strain on it.

4. Natural shampoo and conditioner

Choosing the best shampoo and conditioner for you is of course important, as that is the stuff you put in your hair several times a week. To avoid chemicals and unethically or nature consumingly produced products some people even make shampoos and conditioners themselves. I have chosen the middle path and got my shower products from LUSH. These shampoos and conditioners contain rich natural oils and other great natural ingredients for hair such as sea salt and honey, while consuming less packaging materials as they can be preserved without a bottle and last longer than normal shampoos.

IMAG0562_1

Are there any must know tips you would like to share?

Leave a Reply

