Care for Curls

DSC_0229

Curly hair is a blessing and a curse, especially if it is fine, like mine. Sometimes it looks lovely but most of the time I need to put a lot of effort in making it look good, and often just end up tying it up or braiding it. I used to straighten my hair a lot as well, but have given that up as it is not good for the hair. (Neither is blowdrying!) However, I have come to realise that letting your hair be natural can actually take it to its’ full glory, with the help of a few useful tips.

DSC_0206

When it comes to curly hair, the problem is often drying and dry scalp. Deep conditioning and giving nutrition to both hair and scalp is therefore vital every now and again. If you don’t have the time or energy to oil your hair, get yourself a natural hair mask / conditioner. I got mine, a conditioning treatment mask, from Natural Beauty Shop (naturalbeautyshopfinland.com). It is hand made in the shop, contains only ingredients from plants, and is rich with shea butter, coconut oil, jojoba oil, moringa oil and vitamins B5 and E.

I apply it on my hair and scalp before sauna (I am so Finnish…), but if you don’t have a sauna, you can just leave the mask in moist hair for about 10-20 minutes, then wash. My hair always appears shinier and less frizzy after! (Notice that this is a deep conditioner and using it once a week is enough!)

DSC_0213

Despite the conditioning, my curls still lack definition sometimes. I have never been into thick and sticky hair gels (yuck!), and they just don’t go with my hair. However, I have found something that works great on fine hair and nutritions it at the same time. It is a curl defining gel, also from Natural Beauty Shop, and its’ ingredients include flax seed extract, aloevera, horsetail extract and vegetable derived fragrance. The smell is lovely and rosy, and the texture reminds me off egg whites. What surprised me was, that it does not leave my hair sticky with gel, even if I apply quite a lot, but seems to disappear in it, just leaving the curls.

For it to work nicely, I apply it on towel dry hair in the evening, make a French braid and go to bed. In the morning my hair will be all curly and after letting it down for a while it will look great. Notice that the gel seems to dry/disappear a bit slower than water so don’t be alarmed.

DSC_0246

Then, of course, there is the super simple, one ingredient conditioner to remove frizz. Apple cider vinegar. It helps to balance the natural pH of hair and scalp, seals hair cuticles making hair shinier and smoother, and has anti bacterial and anti fungal properties. You can use it like you would your usual conditioner. Mix about 1 part apple cider vinegar and 3 part water (you can experiment with this but remember that vinegar is quite strong), and pour it on clean and moist hair. Leave it in for a few minutes, then rinse.

How do you care for your curls or fine hair? Any natural remedies you would recommend?

Leave a Reply

